• intouch Magazine

Finalists announced for 2021 Lake Mac Awards

Almost 70 outstanding nominations were received for the 2021 Lake Mac Awards to recognise and celebrate our City’s sporting greats, accomplished artists, environmental warriors, volunteers and ambassadors.

The winners of Lake Macquarie City’s most prestigious awards will be announced at a ceremony held at Belmont 16s on Saturday 13 March 2021 at a COVID Safe gala dinner.

Lake Macquarie Mayor Cr Kay Fraser said the awards give recognition to individuals and groups based in Lake Macquarie City who have made a positive impact within our community and further afield.

“We are proud to announce our top nominees for each category and I would like to congratulate all nominees and finalists on their achievements and hard work they have done for our City,” Cr Fraser said.

“It has been a difficult 12 months, but there have been some outstanding contributions from people and groups right across our community.”

Finalists for each category include:



Lake Mac Ambassador

  • Beau Newell

  • Christine Speer

  • Ian Edwards

  • Jonathon Power

  • Margaret Morgan

Lake Mac Young Citizen

  • Dylan Shoesmith

  • Jasmine Seidel

  • Roshaun Anil

Lake Mac Rising Sports Star

  • Conner West

  • Emily Jones

  • Jake Riley

  • Phoenix Visscher

  • Rhiannon Dein

Lake Mac Sports Star

  • Carl Thornton

  • Hannah Southwell

  • Jesse Southwell

  • Maxwell Bristow

Lake Mac Sports Leader

  • Benjamin Jenkinson

  • Deborah Moore

  • George Poulos

  • Heath Anderson

Lake Mac Volunteer of the Year

  • Ann-Maria Martin (Survivor's R Us Incorporated)

  • Christine Langshaw (Wangi Library Knitting Group)

  • Christine Speer (SES)

  • Linda Foggo (Charlestown Caring Group)

  • Maureen Turner (Rotary Club of Toronto)

  • Tamara Barone (Cerebral Palsy Alliance - COVID-19 Response Team)

  • Warwick Brittain (Swansea Lions Club)

Lake Mac Community Group of the Year

  • ARTea's Gallery & Garden

  • Awesome Lake Mac

  • City Serve Incorporated (Hello Hunter)

  • Southlake's Incorporated

  • Swansea Meals on Wheels

  • The Big Hug Box

Lake Mac Artist and Creator

  • Lake Macquarie Branch, Fellowship of Australian Writers

  • Leslie Duffin

  • Melody Jones

  • Michelle Schmitzer

  • Piper Butcher

  • Tracy Thomas

Lake Mac Arts Leader

  • Deanne Newland

  • Jessica Conneely

  • Michelle Teear

Lake Mac Environmental Leader

  • George Lopes (PrintStream)

  • John Fitter (Central Rankin Park Landcare)

  • Lois Simpson (Toronto Area Sustainable Neighbourhood Group, Coal Point Landcare)

  • Peter Dalton and Gabrielle Stacey (Fern Creek Gully Landcare)

  • Samantha Cross (Plastic Police)

Tickets are on sale now for finalists and will open up to the public pending COVID restrictions closer to the event date.

Today's Local News
1232 Live Music Lake Mac InTouch 300x300
101618 02 East Newcastle Press 300x300.j
intouch THIS MONTH


Every month intouch magazine captures the unique spirit of our region and grabs the attention of the community. Intouch magazine showcases what’s hot, what’s on and who’s who with a dynamic blend of inspirational articles, lifestyle features, fashion, events, food and travel – it’s the go-to source for people living in (or visiting) Newcastle, Lake Macquarie, Port Stephens and The Hunter Valley. It’s the place to be seen to build your reputation, tell your story, launch a new enterprise and keep the community intouch both in print and online.



297 Brunker Rd, Adamstown NSW 2289 


PH +61 2 4943 0888 


subscribe to  intouch

Copyright 2015-2020 Two Tribes Media. Published monthly by Two Tribes Media. All rights reserved. Permission to reprint or quote excerpt granted by written request only. While every attempt has been made, Two Tribes media cannot guarantee the legality, completeness or accuracy of the information presented and accepts no warranty or responsibility for such.

© 2015-2020 Two Tribes Media