top of page


ROB THOMAS has had an ongoing, 20-year long, love affair with Australian audiences - both as the front man, lead vocalist and key songwriter for Matchbox Twenty and also as a major solo artist.

In February 2016, that romance will continue as Thomas makes a very welcome return down-under for a national headline tour.

Touring in support of his first solo album in more than six years, the long-awaited The Great Unknown, Thomas’ summer tour will include a special night under the stars at Hope Estate Winery, Hunter Valley on Saturday February 27.

"I’ll be playing some of the new stuff, some of the old stuff, a little bit of everything, it’s pretty exciting…"

Joining Rob Thomas will be special guests Pete Murray and Darren Middleton of Powderfinger fame.

Multiple Grammy Award winner Rob Thomas is known worldwide as lead singer and primary composer with Matchbox Twenty, as well as for his hugely successful solo work and chart-topping collaborations. Overall, Thomas has contributed to sales of more than 80 million records.

Featuring singles Trust You and Hold on Forever, The Great Unknown (out now through Warner Music Australia) is the third and latest solo offering from the master singer-songwriter.

2005 saw the release of Rob’s first solo album, ‘Something to Be’ which made history as the first album by a male artist from a rock or pop group to debut at No. 1 on The Billboard 200. The album also went on to earn a pair of Grammy nominations and create a string of hit singles, including the smash Lonely No More – which went to No. 1 in 15 countries, This Is How A Heart Breaks, Ever The Same, and Streetcorner Symphony.

His 2009 follow up, Cradlesong, featured Her Diamonds, peaked at #3 on the ARIA Album Chart and achieved double-platinum sales.

Matchbox Twenty released their debut album Yourself Or Someone Like You in 1996. Home to massive hits Push and 3AM, the album amassed sales of 10-times platinum in Australia. The band’s most recent studio album, 2012’s North - fuelled by the hit singles She’s So Mean, Overjoyed and Our Song – reaped their first-ever US #1 debut and Billboard 200 chart-topper, and an ARIA Album Chart #1.

Rob Thomas, in part, also holds the title of the second-most played track on Australian radio of the past 15 years with ‘Smooth’, his certified worldwide smash hit collaboration with Santana for which he collected three Grammy Awards. The tune resided at #1 on Billboard’s Hot 100 for a staggering 12 weeks in 1999.

Pete Murray’s quintessential debut album Feeler dominated 2003, selling six-times platinum and earning 12 ARIA Award nominations. Eventually spending more than two and a half years in the Top 100. ‘Feeler’ spawned Murray’s classic ‘So Beautiful’ which went on to become the Most Performed Australian Song of the Year.

Follow up LPs See The Sun (2005) and Summer At Eureka (2008) both debuted at #1, delivering Murray three consecutive chart-topping albums. Released in September 2011, Murray’s fourth studio album Blue Sky Blue sold Gold and spawned the hits Always A Winner and Free.

Pete Murray has remained one of Australia’s hottest and most in-demand touring properties, repeatedly enjoying sold out tours across the country and aboard.

Darren Middleton, best known as Powderfinger’s lead guitarist and songwriter will perform a number of iconic Powderfinger songs in addition to his solo material. Middleton released his new album Splinters earlier this month, a follow up to his 2013 debut album, Translations. Visit for complete tour and ticketing details.


Supreme Ballroom Square.jpg
Gaslight Square.gif
School of Rock Square.png
bottom of page